Harpoon Launcher

Short Rng
Long Rng
Short Acc
Long Acc

Drag (X): After a hit made by an attack with this trait has been resolved normally (i.e. after any wound, save, and injury rolls have been made), if the target was not taken Out of Action the attacker can attempt to drag the target towards themselves.

To resolve this, the attack is considered to have a Drag Force equal to the number shown in brackets + D3; if no number is specified the number is assumed to be equal to the attack's Strength. For instance, an attack annotated as having Drag(5) has a Drag Force of 5 + D3, while an attack annotated as simply Drag has a Drag Force equal to the attack's Strength + D3.

The target is considered to have a Drag Resistance as indicated in the below table.

Drag Resistance
The Target Is...
Value To Subtract
another fighter
target's modified Strength + D3
an object that can be carried
using the Carry Object action
1 + D3
an object that can be carried using
the Carry Heavy Object action
4 + D3

Subtract the target's Drag Resistance from the attack's Drag Force to determine the Drag Distance (minimum 0). If the Drag Distance is 0 the target is unaffected by this trait. Otherwise, the target is involuntarily moved that many inches straight towards the attacker.

For instance, a Strength 4 attack with this trait has a Drag Force of between 5 and 7, while a non-heavy carryable object has a Drag Resistance of between 2 and 4. Thus, depending upon comparative dice rolls, such an object would be dragged between 1'' and 5'' by such an attack. Similarly, a Strength 4 fighter has a Drag Resistance of between 5 and 7 and might be entirely unaffected by the same attack, but even in the worst case would be dragged no more than 2''.

If the target is moved off a ledge by this trait it falls and may suffer falling damage. If the target is moved into an obstruction, the target stops moving and suffers a hit resolved with a Strength equal to the Drag Distance, no AP, and 1 Damage; if the obstruction has Wounds, it also suffers an identical hit.

The 1'' rule does not apply to this involuntary movement. If a target fighter would end their movement within 1'' of one or more enemy fighters they are instead moved into base contact with the nearest enemy fighter.

If an attack with this trait also has the Impale trait and hits more than one fighter, the last fighter to be hit is considered to be the target for purposes of resolving this trait.

At the end of resolving this trait, if the target is a fighter and they remain Active, that fighter becomes Pinned.

Impale: If an attack made by this weapon hits and wounds the target, and the save roll is unsuccessful (or no save roll is made), the projectile continues through them and might hit another fighter! Trace a straight line from the target, directly away from the attacker. If there are any fighters within 1'' of this line, and within the weapon's Long Range, the one that is closest to the target is at risk of being hit. Roll a D6; on a 3 or more resolve the weapon's attack against that fighter subtracting 1 from the Strength. The projectile can continue through multiple fighters in this way, but if the Strength is reduced to 0, it cannot hit any more fighters.

Scarce: The Reload (Simple) Action cannot be taken on a weapon profile with the Scarce trait.